Carolus Magnus Summer School

The Carolus Magnus Summer School is devoted to the theoretical and experimental aspects of high temperature plasmas confined in toroidal magnetic fields. The school has a focus on the physics of energy production using controlled nuclear fusion. Here, special emphasis is laid on tokamaks, but stellarators and spherical devices are also discussed.

The Institute for Energy Research / Plasma Physics at Research Centre Jülich, the FOM-Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen and the Laboratory for Plasma Physics of the ERM/KMS Brussels are associated in the “Trilateral Euregio Cluster” (TEC), which is responsible for the organisation of the Carolus Magnus Summer Schools. The School takes place every two years, usually in the month of September.

Most lectures are given by senior physicists from the three TEC Institutes and by academic staff from the nearby universities of North Rhine-Westphalia, Belgium and the Netherlands. Usually, some lectures are also delivered by experts from other laboratories associated in the European fusion research programme and from the EURATOM Directorate. Additionally, leading speakers from the international ITER Project and from industry are invited to give special evening lectures.

The Carolus Magnus Summer School is primarily intended for PhD students as well as for undergraduate students who will become PhD students after the present academic year. Experienced scientists who, coming from other disciplines, recently entered the fields of plasma physics or nuclear fusion will also benefit from the school that will provide an overview of the various interconnected research domains. The Carolus Magnus Summer School does not only teach fusion basics, it also describes the latest developments on the way to the fusion power plant.

The 15th Carolus Magnus Summer School on Plasma and Fusion Energy Physics (CMSS-2024) will be held 24 June – 05 July 2024 and hosted by the Laboratory for Plasma Physics, LPP-ERM/KMS in Brussels, Belgium.

Visit the website for more info!

Updated 20/06/2024